Bockman and Durdan Win State Smallbore Prone Titles


Jack Bockman of Oswego , and Matt Durdan of Grand Ridge, won the Illinois State Metric and Conventional Prone Smallbore Rifle Championship titles, respectively.  The match was held September 8 and 9, 2018. The two day championships took place at the I.S.R.A. Range near Bonfield with attending competitors from Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Michigan.
Jack Bockman mastered the windy and overcast conditions to grind out a 1552/1600 score with 66 X’s.  Throughout the day long competition, it remained a close contest with strong challenges from former metric champion, Matt Durdan, who fired a 1547/1600 with 51 X’s.  In the junior category, the lead was in constant motion between Ty Scher of Farmer City, Martina Gratz of Sigel, and Josie Peters of Clifton.  In the end, Scher took Second Master Honors with Peters claiming High Junior Honors.  Dave Turcotte of Naperville won high F-Class honors.  At the end of the day, it was Bockman’s consistent performance, shot entirely with iron sights, which won the day and the James Miller Metric Prone State Trophy.

Matt Durdan made a great comeback on day two, when the State Conventional Championship was fired.  Durdan mastered tricky wind conditions to shoot a 1595/1600 with 114 X’s to win the Grand Aggregate and the David Moore Championship Trophy.  The real battle was in the State Junior Prone Championship with Josie Peters winning the O.B. Ellison Junior Championship Trophy with a 1590/1600 and 96X effort.  She was closely followed by Ty Scher who came up four X’s short from Peter’s score and winning the junior laurels.  The only other shooter breaking into the 1590’s was all-scope shooter, Brian Miller, from Indiana with a 1591/1600 and 94X score.  

Listed below are the 2018 Conventional Prone Championship Trophy winners.

2018 I.S.R.A. Conventional Prone Trophy Winners

David Moore Trophy (Grand Aggregate Winner) Matt Durdan  1595 - 114X
O. B. Ellison Trophy (Top Junior)                 Josette Peters  1590 – 96X
Bausch & Lomb Trophy (50 Yard Irons)     Matt Durdan  400 – 31X
M. Phelan Trophy (50 Meter Irons)             Matt Durdan  399 – 30X
Russ Wiles Jr Trophy (Any Sight Dewar) Jaden Thompson  400 – 34X
Paul Carlson Trophy (100 Yard Any Sight)         Ty Scher  398 – 27X

It should be noted that the oldest trophy winner, above, is Matt Durdan in his mid-twenties.  The remaining trophy winners are teenagers.  This is a tribute to the I.S.R.A. Smallbore League, Central Illinois Precision Shooting, 
and the Iroquois West High School Rifle Club who have worked to get young people into shooting smallbore.

Author: Lori (Admin)

Categories: HeadlinesNumber of views: 705


Lori (Admin)Lori (Admin)

Other posts by Lori (Admin)

Contact author

Comments are only visible to subscribers.